Pampering Time 101

Taking time for yourself is fundamental. Relaxing, pushing away stress and daily problems, doing something just for yourself.

Sometimes I like to take a few days, or even a week if I’m on holiday, to detox my body and mind.

Let’s call it a rehab.

20170518_115009

Everyday tips:

  • Wear comfy clothes and sneakers
  • Don’t drink any gassy drinks
  • Go for a walk outside and smell the good fresh air
  • Do a hot long bath with salts
  • Do a lot of relaxing activities such as reading, painting or knitting
  • Meditate
  • Make a gratitud|things-that-make-me-feel-happy list

20170518_113648

20170518_125033


Full week detox:

  • Do an alcohol detox and don’t drink anything that would make you laugh for no reason
  • Use and eat only natural things. Go to the farmers’ market and buy fresh vegetables and food, also go to the herbalist’s shop and buy a good natural body and face cream and essential oils to perfume your home and to use along your usual products
  • Start a no make-up week. Bare your skin for 7 days, let it breath and eject all the toxins
  • Now I won’t tell you to abandon your phone and computer for a full week but maybe for three days would be perfect.
    Just take a break from all this digital and virtual world, connect with your inner self and with the ones you love.
    So: no computer, no cellphone, no text, no instashots, no snaps, no tweets.. well you got it.

SIMPLE DIY

The best DIY detoxing products that I make for myself pretty much all yearlong are the lemon and green tea body scrub, the coffee face scrub and the ginger and lemon infusion.

They are PERFECT.

I always love a good scrub and since my skin is very sensitive I need to use only natural products so why not making it myself?
It’s very simple and quick and I bet you already have the ingredients at your home:

  • 1 cup of Himalayan salt
  • 1 cup of used coffee grains
  • 1 cup of coconut or extra olive oil (or only half, depending on what you prefer)
  • Lemon peel and lemon juice

20170518_112120

20170518_112242

After the scrub apply a moisturizing body cream to hydrate the skin – my favorite is Aveeno, the best I’ve ever tried

MOVIES

While on vacation I watch a ton of movies – I always watch a ton of movies but let’s pretend I don’t for a moment.

Here are the perfect ones for every taste:

  • Animation – for wo wants to laugh and just purely enjoy a movie alone or with the family: RAPUNZEL
  • Romantic/Dramatic – for the ones that need to let it all out and just cry, fantasize about the perfect love story and laugh a little too: THE CHOICE
  • Action/Comedy – for who needs a good dose of violence, sarcasm and adrenaline: DEADPOOL
And remember, an Harry Potter marathon is always a good idea

20170518_132042


MUSIC

Another thing I enjoy a lot is listening to music, calming and relaxing music.

You can find many playlists of this kind on Spotify, my favorites are “Acoustic Afternoon” and “Good Vibes” the songs I like the most are:

Bloom – The Paper Kites
Nights With You – MR
One Step At A Time – Bearson
Tiger Striped Sky – Roo Panes

WORKOUT

During this period (and all year long) I have no willing force to exercise but you have to make some workout to keep you energized, expel toxins, tone the muscles and wake you up a bit.

Some simple moves you can do every day are:

  • 15 squats any time you go to the bathroom.
    Yes you’ve understood right: every time you go peeing (or do number 2) when you have finished you stay on the spot and do 15 regular squats.
    I suppose you go to the bathroom about 3 times every day so that’s 45 squats a day, not bad as a start!
    You can also do it when you get up in the morning and before going to bed – that make it a total of 75.
  • Do you have stairs in your house? Use them! A lot. Go up and down, depending on how many steps you have and in that way you’ll tone the buttocks and your legs.
  • Go running, jogging or even just walking outside for a good hour, catch some fresh air and keep your rhythm constant
For who wants to do a bit more effort, download the app “daily yoga” and start doing yoga every day, like I am (well, I’m trying)

Do you ever have a pampering night or day? Which products and activities do you prefer? Share them in the comments below!

photo-5

34 thoughts on “Pampering Time 101

  1. SofarsoSabine says:

    Even your pictures are a detox for my mind. Love them. I usually like to take a walk with my dogs to relax.

    Like

  2. Natalya says:

    What great suggestions! I try to do a lot of these things but I’ve never really tried meditation, your post has reminded me to. Now that summer’s among us, there’s more time to relax and try these things out!

    Like

  3. helenevlacho says:

    Great tips, so on point. I love reading so usually on Saturdays, i take 2-3 hours just for myself: books, good coffee in my favorite coffee place or in my garden, especially now that the weather is getting warmer.

    Like

  4. Ana De-Jesus says:

    I agree that making a happy list and doing a detox is a great way to cleanse your system of negativity. I was feeling low and thought of 10 things that made me happy. It made me feel a lot better x

    Like

  5. Glory says:

    Fantastic tips. I so need to disconnect from social media for one day. I stared doing the squats in the restroom at work and it totally works. I do 20 squats every time I go to the restroom. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Violinkit says:

    Lots of great tips here for detoxing and re energising. I like the idea of using the stairs as I have an old one with 3 flights and must start running up and down them for max effect. I love your recipes for facial scrubs too as I always feel like a good scrub is like a mini face lift.

    Like

  7. Milton Coyne says:

    Movie marathon has always been my way to pamper myself… I just go to my room with bunch of junk foods around me and watch one movie after another… If not in the movie marathon mood, I hit the beach and embrace the beauty of nature .. I love hitting those unspoiled beaches as they are truly effective to unwind and forget whatever that bothers me!

    Like

  8. Fatima says:

    I love this list! Who doesn’t like to enjoy a pampering session? I generally don’t wear makeup or I must say, it’s just 4-5 times in a month when I really wear makeup.

    Like

  9. Karoliina Kazi says:

    I usually do this kind of (but un-intentional) detox when I spend a week at our lake cottage in Finland. The scrub looks amazing, thanks for sharing it, I’ll definitely give it a go.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      I’m getting so jealous for the week you spend in your lake cottage in Finland, it sounds amazing, I bet it’s a beautiful place! If you try the scrub tell me what you think about it or if you have another recipe to share 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Prerna Garg says:

    Your suggestions are on point. I loved the “do squats in your bathroom” I am definitely going to try that. Also, I loved how you’ve broken down detoxing yourself into different ways and made each one so doable!

    Like

  11. Jasmin N says:

    These are wonderful tips! With a newborn it’s pretty easy to forget take caring myself so this was super accurate for me 🙂 thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      Gossip Girl is such a good choice! I think I would binge watch also Veronica Mars and Greek (I meant, I would binge watch all over again ahah) 🙂

      Like

  12. denisemcd75 says:

    A week of pampering sounds bliss, love Deadpool that film definitely makes me laugh! I love to give myself a good facial too with a scrub and face mask 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

