Store Your Business Cards With Switchit

During my Internship I organized all of my boss’s business cards, there were a couple hundreds of them and although it was a quite enjoyable project – I love planning and organizing and seeing all the different places those little pieces of paper came from was really interesting and fun – I couldn’t help but thinking that there was a better way to store them.

CHECK OUT: WHAT I’VE LEARNED DURING MY INTERNSHIP

When Switchit contacted me I thought “Why not try this out and see if it’s actually efficient and awesome like their video shows“.

20170616_173759-

Here’s their introductory video:

Switchit is an app that offers you the possibility to create and store digital business cards.

The concept is quite simple: you can either use their website or the app (only iOS available for now, Android version will be ready later this year) and you basically upload all the business cards you want.
It can’t get easier than that.

The great thing is that for every card you can add all the social media links, notes about the person, their website and a video or an image, other than the usual phone number and address.

I love collecting business cards but I don’t have any more space in my wallet and sometimes I’m out and I need to tell my friend of that nice photographer I’ve worked with (this is purely hypothetical, I wish I ever worked with a photographer) but I don’t have the card with me.
With Switchit you can just open the app and send the business card over to your friend.

As you can see from the video you can also call your contacts directly from the app and plan appointments in your calendar, which will sync with your Google Calendar as well.

digital-cards_triple3up_phones_contact-managment

The concept is really great because it’s something useful and simple, that you can have always with you and use whenever you need to.
When I tried I was like “yeah it’s ok, but nothing too extraordinary”, but then I realized that that’s what makes it perfect.

It’s a reliable, anyone can use it and it actually makes your life a lot easier decluttering your wallet and not wasting paper.


IMG-20170616-WA0013
Let’s review some pros and cons:
  • It’s eco-friendly
  • It’s free
  • It’s very easy to use and allows you to store a lot of information
  • It’s very versatile – you can use it only for work, or for family, or both
  • Offers a 360° perspective: ordinary info, video or image, appointments and notes
#SIDENOTE: The calendar in the app syncs with basically everything (aka Microsoft Outlook, Google Calendar and iCloud)
  • It looks good – those cards are very well designed and you can choose a different colors for different people
#SIDENOTE: You can color-organize your cards, like I did – meaning that for business I use grey, for friends I use green and for everyone else I use blue
  • The app won’t take much space in your cellphone
  • You can send the digital business card to someone who doesn’t have the app, too

On their website there’s a complete guide on how to use the app and add the cards so I won’t explain it step-by-step because it’s seriously SO easy.

OK, HERE’S A MINI GUIDE: SIGN UP WITH YOUR EMAIL OR LOG IN VIA YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT. START CREATING DIGITAL BUSINESS CARDS ENTERING ALL THE DETAILS OF YOUR CONTACT. SEND THEM TO YOUR FRIENDS OR NEW|POTENTIAL NEW BUSINESS CONTACTS.
(SUPER SIMPLE, I TOLD Y’ALL!)
CONS:
  • The website bugs quite a lot, I suggest you downloading and using the app, which is more handy anyway – I don’t think you take your laptop with you whenever you go
  • The only language is English
  • There’s only the iOS version for now

Switchit is very young (aka new) so be the first ones to try it out and tell me what you think about it!

Do you think it could be useful? Tell me in the comments below!

photo-5


Disclaimer: This post is sponsored by the mentioned brand or PR agency so that I could make an objective evaluation and declare my honest opinion, not influenced in any way by the brand in question.
All opinions are my own, as usual.

11 thoughts on “Store Your Business Cards With Switchit

  1. Britta says:

    Seems like a great system to find people much quicker. With physical cards you tend to lose them or use up a lot of time organising and looking through stacks. Great device!

    Like

  2. Sona Jain says:

    I have digitized my visiting cards using an app called camcard. I am just not a hard copy person may be its my generation but I prefer to have everything in my phone.

    Like

  3. ojandcigs says:

    This could totally be useful! I’ve often stored biz cards in little card binders, but this program could def help reduce clutter (i hate clutter!)

    Like

  4. Nicole Anderson says:

    What a practical and useful app for both business and pleasure. Hard to believe it’s also free, easy to use and share. Looking forward to when they release their Android version.

    Like

  5. Ana De-Jesus says:

    This is ideal for me as I am always running out of business cards so this would be a great way of showing all my sites/stats in one simple app. Switchit sounds great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

