Is EOS’ New Crystal Lip Balm Worth It?

Guest post by the lovely Jane Liu.

In August of 2017, EOS (aka evolution of smooth) released a new Crystal Lip Balm.  I’ve heard the hype and wondered why everyone is freaking out about this new little pod that looks just like the old. I decided to check out some reviews of this new “revolutionary” lip balm first. After doing some digging around, it seemed like the reviews are all very polar extremes – either “I love it” or “I hate it”. So I had to try it for myself…

Eos _1

Before I share with you my honest review of this new product, I want to first reveal the what the new crystal lip balm is made of:

  • It is Wax less
  • Aloe Vera
  • Coconut Oil
  • Avocado Oil
  • Shea Butter
  • Sunflower Seed Oil
  • Castor Seed Oil

So far so good. But EOS seems to really stress the idea of “waxless” and “weightless”.

No matter what the case may be, I went out to my local Walgreens and purchased my own EOS Crystal Lip Balm in the flavor, Hibiscus Peach. There currently another flavor on the market: Vanilla Orchid. You can get this at any local drug store such as Walgreens, CVS, etc. You can also visit beauty stores such as Ulta to purchase this for around $4.99.

Eos _ 2

First, let me tell you. This stuff smells AMAZING! When I was walking home, I would get a whiff of something fruity and I just thought it was someone’s perfume. BUT IT WAS THIS LIP BALM THE WHOLE TIME!

After unboxing the packaging, the amazing scent became stronger and stronger. It first smelled like fruit cake which was great, but when I twisted open the cap, wow… the scent is extra strong. And to be honest, I really wasn’t sure if it would give me headache or not if I had it on all day… that’s how strong it was. Speaking of which, reminded me a lot of middle school cheap 6 pack chapsticks…

The crystal lip balm part is really interesting because it is a completely transparent little dome! I guess the technology of making transparent chapstick is not something new. I was more excited to see if the lip balm itself worked it.

I applied my first layer, but I had to do a double coat because one layer is just not enough. And let me tell you…. this lip balm is definitely not “weightless” because it can apply on pretty thick if you do a few rounds. But I actually prefer that, so it didn’t bother me all that much. After applying, the dome no longer is as perfectly smooth as when I first opened it. So I’ll warn you that it’ll definitely have your lip marks, or in my case, chapped lip marks on the lip balm.

After around 40 mins of dinner and drinks, when I checked in again, I realized the inside of my lips definitely has a lot less lip balm left. The outside that doesn’t touch food is still pretty thick. I no longer get the super intense scent of hibiscus peach anymore which I appreciated, and overall left my lips pretty moisturized. So I think it did its job, and I’ve myth-busted the reviews that say you need to “apply every 10 min”. If you apply just one layer, it’ll definitely wear off pretty easily from even just licking your lips – so just make sure to do a few rounds and really lather it on your lips for extra strength!


I actually did a quick video for my EOS Crystal Lip Balm First Impression, Unboxing, Trial and Review. If you’d like some more details of the product or watch my experience firsthand, check it out!


And let me know in the comments – have you tried this product yet? If yes, what did you think of it? Did you experience the comment complaints? And if you haven’t tried but want to, let me know what makes a lip balm a good lip balm for you?

Xoxo, Jane.


Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 9.25.13 AMLifestyle Youtuber who wants to share her experiences and learnings with others.
Feminist who wants to eventually be an amazing soccer mom with flexible work hours.
Dog lover who plans to own a German Shepard, Oreo and a Golden Retriever, Cheerio.
Find me on Youtube!
Go follow Jane on Twitter and Instagram too!
18 thoughts on “Is EOS’ New Crystal Lip Balm Worth It?

    • janeliu115 says:

      Hey Katja,

      Thanks! I try to stay true when I’m blogging or making youtube videos. There’s no point in lying to your viewers/readers haha. I rather clearly criticize the bad but strongly promote what I believe in or enjoy. That’s how you build a trusting relationship with your audience in my view 🙂
      So I’m so glad you felt that way!
      Not sure if you’re big on youtube videos, but feel free to check out my channel as well! Starting out as a new youtuber is hard, so any support would be greatly appreciated!

      Like

    • janeliu115 says:

      Hey Alice,
      Thanks for reading!
      Me too actually! I have the original Mint one and I’ve always enjoyed it even though it’s a very regular and plain lip balm.
      I agree – It’s nothing special or “revolutionary” but to be honest, since I bought it, I’ve been pretty consistently using it for the past month or so. So maybe it is addictive 😛
      Feel free to check out my youtube channel! Being a new youtuber is hard, so any support would be greatly appreciated!

      Like

  1. Abbey @abbeylouisarose says:

    I’ve never actually tried an EOS product but I’m very tempted after reading this review! The scent does sound lovely, I don’t mind strong scents so long as they’re not too overpowering and headache inducing! Off to watch the YouTube video now!

    Abbey 💕 http://www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    • janeliu115 says:

      Hey Abbey,
      Thanks for reading and watching the video! I really appreciate it! Feel free to subscribe if you’d like more related videos 🙂

      Yeah, if you don’t like super intense scents, try with just one layer first. The scent can definitely be a bit strong.
      If you don’t like the fruity scents, you can always check out EOS’ original mint flavor (it’s not crystal). It’s more natural scent and I’ve always enjoyed it 🙂

      Like

  2. wingsaregolden says:

    I bought the first EOS products and am still using them. I am quite satisfied, but there is still a lot of product left. So the new versions will need to wait until I’m done with the “first generation”. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • janeliu115 says:

      Hi Wingsaregolden,

      Yeah! That’s the one thing I really appreciate with EOS – it lasts for a while even with consistent use.
      I used to use the mint original one and it lasted me forever! I never purchased another because I felt like I had to commit to it if I buy one more 😛 But totally know what you’re saying! #commitmentproblems?

      Oh and feel free to check out the video! Being a new youtuber is hard so any support would be great!

      Like

  3. daynnarichelle says:

    Loved your honesty in this review, I really appreciate you sharing both the pros and cons of the product! To be honest, I tried the original EOS lip balm a few years ago but living in Canada my lips get super chapped in the cold, dry weather of winter. It just couldn’t really keep up or help with that. I’m still on the hunt for my perfect lip balm though so maybe I’ll give EOS another chance with this one! Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    – Daynna
    http://www.adaynnalife.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • janeliu115 says:

      Hey! Thanks for your feedback! I appreciate you reading!
      Yeah… I live in Chicago, winters can definitely be tough.
      May I recommend either straight up vasaline (they have little travel size lip gel things) or baby lips?
      Vasaline is super thick and works soooo well for me during the winter.
      Baby lips is lighter and is not super thick. It leaves my lips moisturized but it does wear off very easily so you have to reapply a lot. Baby lips do come in a bunch of colors so you don’t need another layer of lip stick.
      Check those out and let me know?
      Also feel free to check out my channel! Being a new youtuber is hard so any support would be greatly appreciated!

      Like

  4. helenevlacho says:

    Wonderful presentation and review! never tried this lip balm before but generally, i read a lot of good reviews. I ll check for it next time i ll be in the city.

    Liked by 1 person

    • janeliu115 says:

      Hi! Thanks for reading!
      Definitely give it a shot when you get a chance! They’re starting to become a bigger and bigger brand due to their cute products, cheap price points but high quality. So definitely worth your money!
      Feel free to check out the video! Any support would be greatly appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

    • janeliu115 says:

      Hi Beth!
      Totally agree. That’s the one thing EOS is great about – making it affordable and making it easily accessible (i guess that’s two things :P)
      EOS lip balms also tend to last for a longgg time so it’s definitely worth the money even for just the size!

      Feel free to check out my video! Being a new youtuber is hard so any support would be greatly appreciated!

      Like

  5. Jasmin N says:

    This sounds lovely! I haven’t tried any EOS products but my little sister is obsessed with them. Heard so many good things about them though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • mentalscoops123 says:

      Hey Jasmin,

      Omg you definitely have to try at least one. They have the original kind which has more flavor options. But this new crystal one smells amazing!
      Also, both very affordable!

      Hope you checked out my unboxing video 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

